Skip to main content

Simplify permissions management

When you move a file or folder into an existing folder, the moved asset automatically inherits the permissions of the destination folder.

This means:

  • The permissions from the top-level (parent) folder take precedence.
  • Access to the moved file or folder is now controlled by the destination folder’s Permission Set (if applicable).

Why this happens​

Permissions are managed at the top folder level to keep access consistent and easy to maintain. If you need different access permissions for the moved file or folder:

  • Move the file or folder to a location with the correct permissions, or
  • Create a new folder with the required permissions.

Scenario​

An admin creates a folder named England on the Organization Workspace. The England folder allows users in test_group to read and edit its contents.

Permissions changed after move - Override

Them the admin moves the England folder into a folder named Japan. The Japan folder does not allow access for test_group.

After the move:

  • The Japan folder’s permissions override the permissions set on the England folder.
  • Users in test_group cannot access the Japan folder or its contents, which includes the England folder.

Permissions changed after move - Restored

Finally, the admin moves the England folder back to the root of the Organization Workspace. Without changing any permissions, users in the test_group regain access to the England folder and its contents.